Team Introduction

University of Cape Town

Location:South Africa・Cape Town

Founding Year: 1829

Located in the western part of South Africa, it was original formed as South African College. It is the oldest and most famous universities in South Africa. In 1918, it gained full university status. With over 100,000 graduates to date, the alumni is host to number of famous academics, including Nobel Prize winners.


■Rugby Club: UCT Ikey Tigers Rugby Club

Champions of the last tournament (under the name of World University Rugby Cup), the Ikey Tigers joined 9 other South African universities in the FNB Varsity Cup.  They have been two times champions and two times runners up. In 2008, following up the South Africa win in 2007, the Ikey Tigers took on as assistant coach,  Jack White who was Japan's Top League's Toyota Verblitz Head Coach.With this they was that year's runner up!

This year they are coming in as past champions, and are representing the strength of South African rugby.

Siberian Federation University

Founding Year:2006
Under the Russian Government Education scheme, the university was created by combining four universities into one. Now the top ranked university in Russia. They are now putting more effort into student sports, with a variety of Olympians on staff. 


■Rugby Team

Participated in the first WURC. After a loss against Waseda Club in the tournament, both sides are looking forward to a hopeful rematch!
Although they have a relatively young team, they have already taken championships in Russia and are a well trained team!

University Of Sydney


Founding Year:1850

Australia's Oldest University. A respectable university with its results speaking for itself by belonging to the Group of Eight, as well as being one of 37 universities part of the Association of Pacific Rim Universities. The university looks to be both academically strong as well as physically!


■Sydney University Football Club

Founded in 1863. Proud winners of the national university championship 23 times. Home university of a range of capped players such as Bernard Foley and Tolu Latu. Came to Japan in February 2018 and held a match with Meiji University.

The University of British Columbia

Location:Canada - British Columbia

Founding Year:1908

A research university found in the province of British Columbia. With Alumni such as Justin Trudeau current Prime Minister of Canada, as well as 4 previous Prime Ministers and 7 Nobel Laureates, it is one of Canada's most famous Universities. As well as producing well versed academics, it has a large showing on sportsmen and women, with 67 Olympic medal winners coming from the university.

■Rugby Team(UBC Thunderbirds)
Third place winners from the first WURIT in 2015. It has a long history of over 100 years, with more than 70 famous Canadian National Team players having their start at UBC!

Oxford University

Location:England - Oxford

Founding Year:11th Century

One of the world's oldest and most famous universities. Currently in the top 3 rankings for Universities, with a whole host of famous alumni. 

■Rugby Team (Oxford University Rugby Club)
Formed in 1869, and know as the Dark Blues. They are one of the if not the oldest rugby teams in the world.

One half of the Varsity Match a world famous match that started in 1872 between Oxford and Cambridge University.

Hosts of the 2015 World University Rugby Cup(WURC).

Tied to Waseda Rugby Club via several circumstances, mainly via several competitions between the sides and Mr. Oku a winger that played for both sides, and eventually diplomat that was killed in Iraq. 

© 2019 by WASEDA CLUB.  Proudly created in association with  JAPANKURU FUNDING

WURIT実行委員会 事務局:

東京都杉並区上井草3-32-6 伊地知ビル1F
TEL 03-3301-5930  FAX 03-3301-5920

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • WURIT2019